Alliance for Water Efficiency Appoints Five New Board Members

Leaders from All Sectors of Water Industry to Bring Cross-Industry Expertise to Alliance Mission


The Alliance for Water Efficiency Board of Directors announced that it has elected five new Directors of AWE. The following new Directors were approved in December of 2015 and have been appointed to a 3-year term expiring in 2018:

TomTom Heikkinen is the General Manager of the City of Madison Water Utility. Tom has more than 20 years of experience serving the public through the regional provision of clean, safe drinking water, superior customer service, and the protection and enhancement of our natural environment. As General Manager, Tom provides executive leadership and direction over all aspects of water utility operation serving a city of 240,000 people. He has instituted numerous innovative initiatives, including a utility-wide Advanced Metering Infrastructure and industry-leading public outreach and water conservation program.

PetePete Silva currently is President of Silva-Silva International, an engineering consulting firm specializing in water resources management in San Diego, CA. Pete brings nearly 39 years of professional experience in the water and wastewater fields, including expertise in US-Mexico trans-border water issues. As a licensed Professional Engineer (CA), he has worked in the public sector at the city, local, regional, state, federal and international levels of government. He has been appointed by two CA Governors to terms as Vice-Chair of the Water Resources Control Board. He has also received two presidential appointments, including one by President Barack Obama to the post of EPA Assistant Administrator for the Office of Water.
MontyMontgomery Simus is founder and Chief Executive Officers of Water Politics, a leading geopolitical risk advisory and consulting firm dedicated to the analysis of the environmental, political, social, security and economic issues related to the scarcity of, competition over, and sharing of limited freshwater resources.  A graduate of Yale and Harvard, Monty is currently a Senior Advanced Leadership Initiative Fellow at Harvard focusing on research related to the water-energy-food nexus, and recently founded AgResilience, an innovative technology company committed to improving water availability and boosting food security in developing/emerging countries.  Monty is also a co-founder of SmartMarkets, an eco-preneurial venture that applies web 2.0 technology and online social networking innovations to motivate energy and water conservation.

JenniferJennifer Walker is the Water Resources Program Coordinator for the Lone Star Chapter of the Sierra Club. She has over 12 years of experience in water issues and works primarily on the Texas Living Waters Project. Jennifer focuses on statewide water policy issues with an emphasis on state and regional water planning, water conservation and bay and estuary protection issues. She serves on various water conservation focused committees and task forces in Texas, including the Austin Integrated Water Resource Planning Task Force, of which she is the Vice-Chair. Jennifer has experience with utility financial model best practices and conservation-based ratemaking as well as experience addressing the legal, political and social complexities with groundwater and surface water management. Jennifer is a member of the Lower Colorado Regional Water Planning Group (Region K) with 10 years of experience in generating the long-term water plan for this region that feeds into the State Water Plan. Jennifer has considerable experience working on water policy/resources issues and strives to work collaboratively and approach resource management challenges with a solution oriented perspective.
Carol 2Carol Ward-Morris is the Assistant Director of the Arizona Municipal Water Users Association. Carol began her career at AMWUA in 1996 and was previously AMWUA's Program Manager for Demand Management & Sustainability. She remains responsible for the development, evaluation, management, and advancement of AMWUA's regional water conservation, efficiency, and sustainability efforts. Carol serves as alternate co-chair of the Municipal and Industrial Conservation and Reuse Workgroup of the Moving Forward Process, initiated in response to the Colorado River Basin Water Supply and Demand Study. Carol has served on the Board of Directors of the Arizona Nursery Association since 2006, linking the water community with the nursery and landscape industry. Since 2010, Carol has been appointed to the Advisory Board of the University of Arizona Cooperative Extension, Maricopa County.

“The Alliance is thrilled to welcome these accomplished and highly qualified leaders to our Board,” said Mary Ann Dickinson, President and CEO of the Alliance for Water Efficiency. “As the Alliance expands our work to address immediate scarcity challenges and to sustain water supplies for the future, we must continue to create bridges between all stakeholder groups involved in the management of our water resources. These Directors are leaders from the utility, policy, academic, non-profit and private sectors and bring to the Alliance mission strong track records of implementing collaborative and innovative solutions.”

In 2015, the Alliance Board also expressed deep appreciation to Carole Baker, who is transitioning off the Board, for her eight years of service and contributions as Board Chair. Ms. Baker is the President and CEO of the Texas Water Foundation.

The Alliance for Water Efficiency is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the efficient and sustainable use of water in the United States and Canada. Headquartered in Chicago, the Alliance works with nearly 400 water utilities, water conservation professionals in business and industry, planners, regulators, and consumers. AWE delivers innovative tools and training to encourage cost-effective water conservation programs, conducts cutting-edge research, and pursues programs and policies necessary for a sustainable water future. In 2014 the Alliance won the U.S. Water Prize in the non-profit category for its work.