AWE Announces Webinar - Register Today!

Managing Drought: Learning from Australia

2016-03-30

Australia Drought Report Cover - USAWE President and CEO Mary Ann Dickinson, Dr. Stuart White, Director of the Institute for Sustainable Futures, and Heather Cooley, Water Program Director of the Pacific Institute will present on their recent report, "Managing Drought: Learning from Australia." The report provides an overview of the key initiatives implemented by Australia's four largest cities during an extended period of extreme drought, and outlines how those measures could help California through its current water crisis. On top of successes in urban water efficiency, other key findings in the report include:

  • Broad community involvement across sectors – households, business, industry and government – fosters a sense of fairness and collaboration in saving water.
  • Clear, credible communication about the drought situation and response is needed to maximize public participation and support.
  • Innovative water-pricing mechanisms, not employed during Australia’s millennium drought, could be used to incentivize water savings in California.

Click here to download the full report.

Day/Date: Monday, May 2, 2016
Start Time: 11 a.m. PDT | 12 p.m. MDT | 1 p.m. CDT | 2 p.m. EDT
Duration: 1 hour
Presenters: Mary Ann Dickinson, President and CEO, Alliance for Water Efficiency; Dr. Stuart White, Director, the Institute for Sustainable Futures; Heather Cooley, Water Program Director, Pacific Institute.

Cost: Free.

Registration now closed.

AWE LogoInstitute for Sustainable Futures logoPacific Institute 

MWDSC Logo            water research foundation logo     SFPUC-Logo