AWE Announces Webinar - Register Today

Managing Peak Demand Through the Use of Smart Technology

2017-09-12

Peak-Water-Demand-Management-Study---Cover(1)Is your utility suffering from high peak demands from landscape irrigation? Are you wondering how technology might be able to help you solve this problem? Then this webinar is for you. A new report from the Alliance for Water Efficiency describes an innovative load shifting experiment carried out during the summer of 2016 by New Jersey American Water (NJAW), Rachio, and WaterDM. The Peak Day Water Demand Management Study explores the viability of using remotely-controlled irrigation systems to reduce peak water demands. In the AWE study, fifteen NJAW customers, equipped with Rachio irrigation controllers, agreed to have their irrigation remotely interrupted on two separate dates in August 2016 for the experiment.

The webinar will cover the following:

  • Describing the experiment that was undertaken with the fifteen customers
  • Analyzing how peak demand was shifted
  • Summarizing the lessons learned
  • Extrapolating what the results might be from a broader application of the technology

Date: Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Time: 11 a.m. PDT (Noon MST) / Noon MDT / 1 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. EDT
Presenters: Mary Ann Dickinson, President & CEO, Alliance for Water Efficiency; Peter Mayer, Principal, Water Demand Management; Margaret Hunter, Sr. Project Manager, American Water; Clay Kraus, Director of Market Development, Rachio
Cost: Free for AWE members, $40 for non-members

Registration closed.